5 most important players for Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL 2022

The Indian Premier League 2022 concluded this year's edition of the mega auction on February 13. A total of 204 players were sold in the two-day event, including 66 overseas players. The auction recorded a total of INR 551.7 crore spent or roughly INR 2.7 crores per player in addition to INR 324.2 crores being spent to retain 33 players.

The 10 teams in the IPL 2022 now are equipped with a total of 237 players. Four teams completely utilized the maximum quota of 25 players. Newcomer Lucknow Super Giants, meanwhile, seemed to be satisfied with only 21 players, the least in the league this year. The 237 players comprised roughly 76 batters and wicket-keepers, 78 All-rounders, and 73 bowlers.

The Sunrisers Hyderabad purchased several new players, making their squad now comprising the followings:

Batters and WKs: Aiden Markram, Kane Williamson (C), Priyam Garg, Rahul Tripathi, Ravikumar Samarth, Nicholas Pooran (WK), and Vishnu Vinod (WK).

All-rounders: Abdul Samad, Abhishek Sharma, Glenn Philips, Marco Jansen, Romario Shephard, Sean Abbott, Shashank Singh, and Washington Sundar.

Bowlers: Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Kartik Tyagi, Saurabh Dubey, T Natarajan, Umran Malik, Jagadeesha Suchith, and Shreyas Gopal.

Their most expensive player from the auction was Nicholas Pooran, who was purchased for Rs. 10.75 crores Their other high-priced players include Washington Sundar (Rs. 8.75 crores), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Rs. 4.20 crores), Rahul Tripathi (Rs. 8.5 crores), Marco Jansen (Rs. 4.2 crores), and Abhishek Sharma (6.5 crores).

Prior to the auction, the Sunrisers Hyderabad kept three players in the squad, namely Kane Williamson, Abdul Samad, and Umran Malik. That being said, the five most important players for the team in the 2022 Indian Premier League will be as follows:

1. Aiden Markram

South African cricketer Aiden Kyle Markram was named Cricketer of the Year in 2018. It is speculated that the Sunrisers Hyderabad will choose him as the team’s opener in the IPL 2022 season opener. Previously in the 2021 season, he played for the Punjab Kings where he scored 146 runs at an average of 29.20 in six matches. He was purchased by the Sunrisers Hyderabad for Rs. 2.6 crores in the latest edition of the IPL mega auction.

2. Kane Williamson

New Zealand cricketer Kane Stuart Williamson currently serves as the captain of his national team in all formats. The right-handed batter made his first-class cricket debut in December 2007.

Williamson has been chosen as the captain of the Sunrisers Hyderabad in the 2022 IPL. The team re-purchased the New Zealand batsman for Rs. 14 crores in the mega auction. The team does not have many options for their opener, the right-handed hitter, understandably, will open for the team this season. He hit 44.33 in 10 games with an average of 266 runs last season.

3. Nicholas Pooran

Trinidadian cricketer and West Indies player Nicholas Pooran made his international debut in 2016. Pooran has been speculated to serve as the team's wicketkeeper in the first game of the IPL 2022. It is also possible that he will bat in the middle of the order. He was a member of the Punjab Kings in the previous season. The left-handed batter scored 85 runs in 12 games in 2021.

4. Washington Sundar

International level player Washington Sundar bats left-handed and bowls right-arm off-spin. During his years in the under-19 cricket squad, he served as an all-rounder. He made his international debut for India on December 13, 2017, playing against Sri Lanka. He scored 31 runs in six games and took three wickets in last season's first leg in the UAE.

5. Thangarasu Natarajan

Thangarasu Natarajan made his international debut for the Indian cricket team in December 2020. He was bought in the auction for Rs. 4 crores. Last season, the left-arm bowler played in two games and took two wickets for the Sunrisers Hyderabad.


Akshay Malhotra

28 year old former professional cricketer at youth levels with a burning passion for sports. Experienced football writer with over 8 years of experience.