The New IPL Format For The 2022 Edition – Fixtures And Retention Rules

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) revealed significant decisions taken at the IPL Governing Council meeting on February 25 about the 2022 season of the Indian Premier League.

With the inclusion of two new members to the previously existing family of eight – Lucknow Supergiant and Gujarat Titans – the IPL has reverted to the 2011 format, when the league welcomed two new clubs – Pune Warriors India and Kochi Tuskers Kerala (both defunct).

As was the case regarding the 2011 format, the 2022 system has left many puzzled, as it was revealed on February 25 that the 10 clubs have been split into two groups of five each. 

The teams are listed below in their respective groups and rows:


Group A


Group B


MI (5)


CSK (4)


KKR (2)


SRH (1)


RR (1)











With the league increasing to 70 matches followed by four playoffs. FInd the complete IPL schedule here. All of this, and a little more, is summarized below:

The teams have been separated into two virtual groups based on a seeding mechanism based on the number of titles won and finals played.

The five-time winners, Mumbai Indians, are in Group A, which also includes two past champions, Kolkata Knight Riders (three titles) and Rajasthan Royals (one title), as well as two-time finalists Delhi Capitals and newcomers Lucknow Supergiants.

Group B has four-time champions Chennai Super Kings, Sunrisers Hyderabad (one title), three-time finalists Royal Challengers Bangalore, Punjab Kings (one final), and Gujarat Titans. 

Pattern Of Fixtures

The rows and columns of the groupings (A and B) were created based on IPL performance —- number of titles won and number of finals reached.

  • To begin with, the teams have been divided into groups according on their IPL success, with Mumbai Indians (Team 1) leading the way with five championships.
  • In group B, the first team is Chennai Super Kings(Team 2), which has four championships.
  • KKR is placed second in Group A, with two championships, while SRH is placed second in Group B, with a single title.
  • Rajasthan Royals (1 title) is Team 3 in Group A, whereas Royall Challengers Bangalore, which has played three finals, is Team 3 in Group B.
  • Delhi Capitals is Team 4 in Group A, with one final appearance and two play-offs, while Punjab Kings is Team 4 in Group B, with one final appearance.
  • Newcomers Lucknow Super Giants are Team 5 in Group A, while Gujarat Titans are Team 5 in Group B.
  • Each team plays the other teams in their group twice, for a total of eight matches. The next six games are against the five clubs in the opposing group. As a result, MI from Group A will play two games against CSK, its counterpart in Group B, and one game against the other four clubs.
  • Similarly, KKR, the second-placed team in Group A, will face SRH in Group B twice and all other teams once. This is how teams achieve a total of (8+6) 14 group league games.

As a result, each of the 10 clubs will play 14 games during the league round (7 home and 7 away). Each team will face five different teams twice and four other teams once (twice at home and twice away). However, since the Covid restrictions are still clouding the tournament, it will be hosted in just two locations in Maharashtra in 2022, and hence the notion of away and home games will not be used until later. 

Venue Allocation

Mumbai will host 55 games, while Pune will host 15. The location for the playoffs has yet to be determined, although Ahmedabad is a strong contender.

In terms of venue-wise allocation, each side will play four games at Wankhede Stadium and DY Patil Stadium, and three at Brabourne Stadium and MCA Stadium.

New IPL Player Retention Rules

These were the new set of squad-building rules that every team had to abide by before the 2022 IPL Auctions, held in February.

  • Every squad will be able to retain up to three Indian (capped/uncapped) and two foreign players, with a maximum of four retentions.
  • It was stated unequivocally that a team may not retain more than two uncapped players.
  • The team management had the option of keeping three Indian players and one foreign player, or two Indian players and two foreign players, depending on the circumstances.
  • Before the commencement of the auction in 2022, the two new IPL clubs were allowed to choose any two Indian players and one Iforeign player from the mega auction pool.
  • In addition, prior to the auction, the new clubs were allowed to choose one uncapped player. 

Salary Caps Explained

The BCCI also detailed the Salary Cap for the retained players before the auction, which was dependent on the team's choice to retain a certain number of players.

  • If a team retains four players, their player purse would be reduced by Rs 42 crore.
  • If a team retains three players, their player purse would be reduced by Rs 33 crore.
  • If a team retains two players, their player purse would be reduced by Rs 24 crore.
  • If a team only retains one player, its purse worth would be reduced by Rs 14 crore.
  • Each uncapped player that is retained will cost Rs 4 crore.

If a team retains 4 of its players then the salary cap of the four players will be as follows:

*below mentioned will be the player’s annual salary

Deductions for 4 Players

INR 42 Cr(Total)

Player 1

INR 16 Cr

Player 2

INR 12 Cr

Player 3

INR 8 Cr

Player 4

INR 6 Cr

If a team retains 3 of its players then the salary cap of the three players will be as follows:

3 players deduction

INR 33 Cr(Total)

Player 1

INR 15 Cr

Player 2

INR 11 Cr

Player 3

INR 7 Cr


If a team retains 2 of its players then the salary cap of the two players will be as follows:

2 Players deduction

INR 24 Cr(Total)

Player 1

INR 14 Cr

Player 2

INR 10 Cr


If a team keeps only one player, then the team has to pay him a total of INR 14 crores

1 Player deduction

INR 14 Cr

Akshay Malhotra

28 year old former professional cricketer at youth levels with a burning passion for sports. Experienced football writer with over 8 years of experience.