The BCCI has released the schedule for the TATA IPL 2022

IPL Logo

BCCI Secretary Jay Shah released a statement announcing the schedule for the upcoming IPL Season 2022, also clarifying the number of double headers that will take place in the now expanded league, as two new teams make their way.

The schedule for the TATA Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022, which will be staged in Mumbai and Pune, has been released by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). In all, 70 league matches and four playoff games will be played over the course of 65 days.

The 15th season will begin on March 26th at the Wankhede stadium with a high-octane duel between the Chennai Super Kings and the Kolkata Knight Riders. The league will have its maiden double-header on March 27th, beginning with a Day game at Brabourne between the Delhi Capitals and the Mumbai Indians. The night match between Punjab Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore will take place at the DY Patil Stadium.

The MCA Stadium in Pune will host its inaugural game on March 29th, when the Sunrisers Hyderabad face the Rajasthan Royals. Wankhede Stadium and DY Patil Stadium will host 20 matches apiece, while Brabourne and MCA International Stadium in Pune will host 15 matches each.

There will be a total of 12 double headers, with the opening match beginning at 3:30PM IST. All evening games will begin at 7:30 p.m. IST. The final league stage game will be contested on May 22nd at the Wankhede Stadium between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Punjab Kings. The schedule for the Playoffs and the TATA IPL 2022 final, which will take place on May 29th, will be released later.


Akshay Malhotra

28 year old former professional cricketer at youth levels with a burning passion for sports. Experienced football writer with over 8 years of experience.